To develop the NTI Index, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and NTI convened a panel of highly respected nuclear security experts with a broad range of expertise from both nuclear- and non–nuclear weapon states around the world. The panel included experts from Argentina, Australia, China, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, the

United Kingdom, the United States, and Vietnam. Among those, one panel member is a representative from the World Institute for Nuclear Security, and one is a former International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) official.

The panel advised NTI and the EIU on the selection of indicators and their relative importance. Panel members were instrumental in considering options for strengthening the NTI Index (for example, the inclusion of the new cybersecurity indicator) and for helping develop the framework for the Sabotage Ranking. The panel’s input helps ensure that the NTI Index has an international point of view and reflects the ongoing international discussion about nuclear security priorities.

Panel members do not represent their country’s interests, nor do they score individual countries. Instead, they play an advisory role in their personal, not professional, capacities. Participation in the International Panel of Experts does not imply endorsement of every aspect of the NTI Index, nor does not imply endorsement of the Index’s findings and recommendations. On the contrary, panel meetings demonstrated a range of views and highlighted the need for a continuing dialogue on priorities.

Dauren Aben

Senior Research Fellow, Kazakhstan Institute for Strategic Studies, under the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Irma Arguello

Founder and Chair, NPSGlobal Foundation; Head of Secretariat of the Latin American and Caribbean Leadership Network; Member of the Steering Committee of the Fissile Materials Working  Group

John Carlson

Counselor, NTI; former Director General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office

Anatoly S. Diakov

Professor of Physics, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

Anna Ellis

Director, Indigon Nuclear, United Kingdom

Roger Howsley

Executive Director, World Institute for Nuclear Security

Feroz Khan

Lecturer, U.S. Naval Postgraduate School; Retired Brigadier-General in the Pakistani Army

Masahiro Kikuchi

President of the Japan Association of Disarmament Studies

Frans Mashilo

Senior Manager, Security Services, South African Nuclear Energy Corporation

Steve Nesbit

Director, Nuclear Policy and Support, Duke Energy Corporation

Anita Nilsson

Executive Director, AN & Associates; Advisor, Federation of American Scientists; Senior Fellow of the CITS, University of Georgia; former Director of IAEA Office of Nuclear Security; former Deputy Director, Swedish Nuclear Power Inspectorate

Scott D. Sagan

The Caroline S. G. Munro Professor of Political Science and Senior Fellow, Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University

Sheel Kant Sharma

Distinguished Fellow, Centre for Air Power Studies, former Ambassador of India to Austria, and Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations and the IAEA

Tuan Ta Minh

Associate Professor of Political Science, Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam

Hui Zhang

Senior Research Associate, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University