In developing the NTI Index, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and NTI convened highly respected nuclear materials security experts from around the world. This group included experts with a broad range of expertise and who were from nuclear-weapon and non–nuclear-weapon states and from developed and developing nations. The panel included experts from Argentina, Australia, China, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Vietnam. Of those, one is a representative from the World Institute for Nuclear Security (WINS), and one is a former International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) official.

The panel advised NTI and the EIU on the selection of indicators and their relative importance. Panel members were instrumental in considering options for strengthening the NTI Index (for example, the inclusion of the new cybersecurity indicator) and for advising on the development of the framework for the new assessment related to sabotage. Input from the panel helps ensure that the NTI Index has an international point of view and reflects the ongoing international discussion on nuclear security priorities.

Panel members do not represent their country’s interests or score individual countries. Instead, they play an advisory role in their personal, not professional, capacities. Participation in the International Panel of Experts does not imply endorsement of every aspect of the NTI Index or its findings and recommendations. On the contrary, panel meetings demonstrated a range of views and the need for a continuing dialogue on priorities.

Dauren Aben

Senior Research Fellow, Kazakhstan Institute for Strategic Studies, under the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan

John Carlson

Counselor, NTI; former Director General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office

Anatoly S. Diakov

Professor of Physics, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

Roger Howsley

Executive Director, World Institute for Nuclear Security

Feroz Khan

Lecturer, U.S. Naval Postgraduate School; Retired Brigadier-General in the Pakistani Army

Frans Mashilo

Senior Manager, Security Services, South African Nuclear Energy Corporation

Steve Nesbit

Director, Nuclear Policy and Support, Duke Energy Corporation

Anita Nilsson

Executive Director, AN & Associates; Advisor, Federation of American Scientists; Senior Fellow of the CITS, University of Georgia; former Director of IAEA Office of Nuclear Security; former Deputy Director, Swedish Nuclear Power Inspectorate

Raúl Racana

Professor, Nonproliferation for Global Security Foundation; former President of the Board of Directors, Nuclear Regulatory Authority of Argentina

Scott D. Sagan

The Caroline S. G. Munro Professor of Political Science and Senior Fellow, Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University

Sheel Kant Sharma

Distinguished Fellow, Centre for Air Power Studies, former Ambassador of India to Austria, and Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations and the IAEA

Tatsu Suzuki

Vice Chairman of Japan Atomic Energy Commission; former Council Member of Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs

Tuan Ta Minh

Associate Professor of Political Science, Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam

Hui Zhang

Senior Research Associate, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University